AIToday
AI Coding AssistantsAI Business & IndustryITmedia AI+Published: Aug 31, 2026, 13:01 JST2 min read

Anthropic raises Claude Code weekly cap 25%, but it's 17% less than current

Anthropic raises Claude Code weekly cap 25%, but it's 17% less than current

Key takeaway

  • Anthropic will permanently raise Claude Code's weekly usage cap by 25% from the standard on September 14.

  • But the current temporary 50% increase ends that day, so the cap drops 17% from today's level.

  • The change affects Pro, Max, Team, and Enterprise plans.

3 Key Points

  1. What happened

    Anthropic announced on August 29 that it will permanently raise the weekly usage cap for its coding tool Claude Code by 25% starting September 14, compared with the standard cap. The current temporary 50% increase ends on that date, so users will see a 17% drop from today's level.

  2. Why it matters

    The temporary 50% increase had been extended several times since May 13 and had effectively become the norm. The permanent 25% increase means the cap reverts to a lower level, which could affect heavy users who have been relying on the higher limit.

  3. What to watch

    The company did not disclose the specific token counts, and actual usage varies by model and conversation length. Pro and Max plans share the same usage pool, and additional capacity can be purchased after reaching the cap.

Ask the AI about this article →

Context & Analysis

Anthropic's move to a permanent 25% increase comes after several extensions of a temporary 50% boost that had been in place since May 13. The 50% increase was originally temporary but was extended multiple times, effectively becoming the norm. By setting a permanent cap lower than what users currently enjoy, the company is likely aiming to balance resource usage while still offering a higher limit than the original standard. The company also says it is working on improving visibility and management of usage, which may help users understand their consumption better. Since Anthropic has not disclosed the actual token numbers, the practical impact for individual users will depend on their usage patterns and plan type.

FAQ

When does the new cap take effect?
The permanent 25% increase starts on September 14, and the temporary 50% increase ends on that same date.
Which plans are affected by the weekly cap change?
The change applies to Pro, Max, Team, and Enterprise plans.
Can I still use Claude Code after hitting the cap?
Yes, you can purchase additional usage capacity after reaching the limit.

Also reported by THE DECODER

Get the latest AI Coding Assistants news every morning

For example, today's edition would include:

  • Developer builds Kimi K3 from scratch in PyTorchr/MachineLearning · 8h ago
  • JetBrains launches free local coding agent Junie LocalPublickey · 13h ago
  • OpenAI to end Cursor model access on Nov 12ITmedia AI+ · 1d ago

AI-summarized, only the topics you pick — one digest a day via Email, Slack, or Discord.

Free · takes 30 seconds · unsubscribe anytimeWhat is AIToday? →

Ask AI

Ask AI anything about this article. Q&As are published on this page for other readers too.

Related Articles

Next articleNvidia tops S&P 500 decade winners, AI theme dominates